Underwater RPi Camera Build

Hi there, I’m working on an underwater camera that can be powered by a smart mooring. Eventually, I’d love to see this project evolve into a small low cost waterproof Bristlemouth powered camera that could be used for real-time object detection and send alerts through the smart mooring + spotter API.

I’m a mechanical engineer with minimal experience in embedded hardware, so I’m using this project to learn about firmware and software development (yikes!). The motivation for this project comes from my passion for free diving along California’s coast and my desire to build hardware that encourages me to spend more time underwater. But my recent dives have highlighted the devastation that the purple sea urchin population has had on the once plentiful kelp forest.

Perhaps a tool like this could help in the fight to restore these ecosystems by enabling remote monitoring. Imagine a bunch of moorings along the cost with underwater cameras that could classify and count the number of sea urchins in a given region, then send daily reports to a dashboard to quantify changes in urchin population and highlight areas that are responding better to certain restoration techniques. It’s also possible that a camera based approach is a terrible idea for this application sine the water in this region is typically murky and biofouling will be extreme, but hey, I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.

To get things started and keep things simple I’ve decided to break this project into a few Stages:

STAGE 0: learn how to setup a raspberry pi
a. use a raspberry pi zero configured to run headless

STAGE 1: use the dev kit as a proof of concept
a. get something working quickly, build + test + break ⇒ repeat
b. powered by Bristlemouth, but no data transfer over Bristlemouth (yet)
c. focus on the software + electrical bits
d. don’t worry about waterproofing

STAGE 2: build a camera module
a. make it compact and small